FREE DATABASES

The majority of our databases can be used from your home computer if you have a Rockford Public Library card.
Databases Key
Databases that require a library card number.
Databases Key
Databases ONLY available for use at the library.
Databases Key
Databases that can be accessed from home, but need authorization and a password. This is available by calling the Adult Services Department at (815) 965-7606, option 4.

Books & Music

Freegal Music
Requires a library card
Access from home
Freegal offers music for free download. RPL cardholders can download up to 3 individual songs per week. Files are downloaded in an MP3 format and can then be played, transferred or burned onto a CD. The site contains thousands of artists, tens of thousands of albums and hundreds of thousands of songs, all owned by Sony Music Entertainment.
I-Share
Requires a library card
Access from home
Formerly Illinet, this catalog allows users to search for books from higher educational institutions throughout Illinois.
Gale Literature Criticism Online
Requires a library card
Access from home
Print material delivered in a digital format! Dig deeper into literature criticism with the largest, most extensive compilation of literary commentary available with tens of thousands of hard-to-find essays at your fingertips.
Literature Resource Center
Requires a library card
Access from home
Provides access to biographies, bibliographies, and critical analysis of authors from every age and literary discipline.
Catalog
Requires a library card
Access from home
Search for books and other materials at the Rockford Public Library using our online catalog, MAX. With your library card number and PIN (password), you can login to your personal account to place holds and renew items.
NIC Catalog
Requires a library card
Access from home
Search for items held by libraries near Rockford (including Cherry Valley Public Library, Ida Public Library, and the North Suburban Library District) using the NIC Catalog.
Novelist
Requires a library card
Access from home
Find a good book to read! NoveList lets you search for fiction by title, author, plot, genre or subject. Retrieve author read-alikes, book recommendations, book lists, and book discussion guides.
Novelist K-8
Requires a library card
Access from home
Novelist K-8 works just like NoveList, but is geared towards kids in kindergarten through 8th grade.
OverDrive eBooks
Requires a library card
Access from home
OverDrive eBooks is a downloadable audio and digital book service available to all RPL cardholders. You can download bestselling audio books and other digital content directly from RPL’s website. Just install the free reader software and then use your library card number to access all your favorite titles.
Gale Something About the Author Online
Requires a library card
Access from home
Print material delivered in a digital format! This resource examines the lives and works of authors and illustrators for children and young adults.
Statewide Illinois Library Catalog
Requires a library card
Access from home
A catalog that allows users to search libraries throughout the entire state of Illinois. *Login using your library card number, then select this catalog from the drop-down list.
TumbleBooks
Requires a library card
Access from home
TumbleBookLibrary is an online collection of animated, talking picture books which teach young children the joys of reading in a format they'll love.
TumbleBookCloud
Requires a library card
Access from home
TumbleBookCloud Junior is our collection of early reader chapter books, children's classics, graphic novels, children's audio books and new National Geographic videos - many of which are paired with our e-books - TumbleBookLibrary - "e-books for e-kids," TumbleBookCloud - "Read, Watch, Learn."
WorldCat
Requires a library card
Access from home
An extensive online catalog of books, audiovisual items, Internet resources, and other materials held by libraries worldwide.