FREE DATABASES

The majority of our databases can be used from your home computer if you have a Rockford Public Library card.
Databases Key
Databases that require a library card number.
Databases Key
Databases ONLY available for use at the library.
Databases Key
Databases that can be accessed from home, but need authorization and a password. This is available by calling the Adult Services Department at (815) 965-7606, option 4.

Business, Consumer Information, and Philanthropy

ABI/Inform
Requires a library card
Search for articles from over 3,000 business publications. Includes regional publications, as well as trade, industry, and scholarly publications.
Associations Unlimited
Requires a library card
Contains information on over 400,000 international and U.S. national, regional, state, and local nonprofit membership organizations in all fields.
Foundation Directory
Requires a library card
A database which lists 80,000 grantmakers and over 500,000 grants. This database is only available at the library.
Illinois Job Link (Formerly Illinois Skills Match)
Requires a library card
Matches up Illinois job seekers with suitable employers.
Reference USA
Requires a library card
Search for information on over 14 million U.S. businesses and 89 million U.S. households.
LexisNexis Library Express
Requires a library card
LexisNexis® Library Express is a powerful, Web-based research tool tailored for public libraries that delivers comprehensive news, business and legal information from over 10,000 of the most credible sources available. News and business information are available with a library card. Legal information is available inside the Library only.
Standard & Poors
Requires a library card
Capital IQ NetAdvantage, the premier, independent source for investment research and market commentary. With NetAdvantage, you have ready access to the most popular research products including Industry Surveys, Stock Reports, Mutual Fund/ETF Reports, Bond Reports, Corporation Records, The Register of Corporations, Directors and Executives, and The Outlook, among others.