FREE DATABASES

The majority of our databases can be used from your home computer if you have a Rockford Public Library card.
Databases Key
Databases that require a library card number.
Databases Key
Databases ONLY available for use at the library.
Databases Key
Databases that can be accessed from home, but need authorization and a password. This is available by calling the Adult Services Department at (815) 965-7606, option 4.

Genealogy

America's GenealogyBank and America's Obituaries and Death Notices
Requires a library card
Easily find American historical genealogies, obituaries, marriage notices, birth announcements, casualty lists, military and government documents and other essential primary sources from 1652 to the present. Search 34 million obituaries and death notices published in over 2300 newspapers from all 50 states between 1977 and the present day, and the Social Security Death Index, as well as historical newspapers, books, and documents.
Ancestry Library Edition
Available only at library
Search U.S. Immigration records, birth records, marriage records, death records, and U.S. Census records to find ancestors. This database is only available at the library.
Heritage Quest
Requires a library card
Find ancestors using census records from 1790-1930, Revolutionary War files, Freedman’s Bank, and other resources.
Accessible Archives
Requires a library card
This database provides access to archived magazines, newspapers and books.
Accessible Archives Collections
Requires a library card
Provides access to full-text searchable 18th and 19th century American history primary source material, including African American newspapers from the 1800s.
Rockford Register Star Historical Archives
Requires a library card
Digitized Rockford newspapers dating back to 1871. The database includes Daily Register, Daily Register-Gazette, Morning Star, Register Star, Register-Republic, Republic, Rockford Journal, Rockford Weekly Gazette, and Rockford Weekly Register-Gazette. This is an amazing resource of Rockford's history.
Winnebago Co. Historical Indexes & Sources
Winnebago Co. Deaths 1844 - 1981
Winnebago Co. Historical Indexes & Sources
Winnebago Co. Births 1855 - 1931
Winnebago Co. Historical Indexes & Sources
Winnebago Co. Marriages (bride) 1836 - 1956
Winnebago Co. Historical Indexes & Sources
Winnebago Co. Marriages (groom) 1836 - 1956