FREE DATABASES

The majority of our databases can be used from your home computer if you have a Rockford Public Library card.
Databases Key
Databases that require a library card number.
Databases Key
Databases ONLY available for use at the library.
Databases Key
Databases that can be accessed from home, but need authorization and a password. This is available by calling the Adult Services Department at (815) 965-7606, option 4.

Journals and Magazines

Article First
Requires a library card
Index of articles from the contents pages of journals covering medicine, business, humanities, popular culture, science, technology, and social science. *Login using your library card number, then select this catalog from the drop-down list.
Accessible Archives
Requires a library card
This database provides access to archived magazines, newspapers and books.
ECO
Requires a library card
Electronic Collections Online is a collection of scholarly journals, including topics such as agriculture, history, literature, and psychology.
Master FILE Premier
Requires a library card
Contains full-text articles from nearly 1,700 publications, covering all disciplines; some articles date as far back as 1975. Includes reference books, primary source documents, and over half a million photos, maps, and flags.
Middle Search Plus
Requires a library card
Full-text articles from more than 140 popular magazines for middle school students. Thousands of biographies, historical essays, photographs, maps, and primary source documents are included. Full-text articles are assigned a reading level indicator (Lexiles).
Papers First
Requires a library card
An index of papers presented at conferences worldwide. *Login using your library card number, then select this catalog from the drop-down list.
Primary Search
Requires a library card
Full text of nearly 70 magazines for elementary school research.
Proceedings
Requires a library card
An index of worldwide conference proceedings. *Login using your library card number, then select this catalog from the drop-down list.
CQresearcher
Requires a library card
Congressional Quarterly’s online database offers in-depth and unbiased reporting of issues in the news. Find background information on timely topics and access older reports to track how debates have changed over time.
Zinio
Requires a library card
Access full digital copies of your favorite magazines, and view them on a computer or mobile device. Zinio offers unlimited access to thousands of magazines.
RPL's Zinio Checkout and Usage Guide
RPL's Zinio for Libraries Account Set Up and Checkout Guide.