FREE DATABASES

The majority of our databases can be used from your home computer if you have a Rockford Public Library card.
Databases Key
Databases that require a library card number.
Databases Key
Databases ONLY available for use at the library.
Databases Key
Databases that can be accessed from home, but need authorization and a password. This is available by calling the Adult Services Department at (815) 965-7606, option 4.

Law and Government

Illinois Compile Statutes
Requires a library card
Users can find out information about laws in Illinois, current Senate and House members, and read the Illinois Constitution.
Lawcheck
Available only at library
Search in eleven different areas of law to find answers to everyday legal questions, state specific information, a glossary of common legal terms, and many other resources.
State Tax Form Links
Allows the user to find a number of different tax forms for any state.
U.S. Government Publications
Requires a library card
Covers all types of U.S. government documents, including Congressional reports, hearings, debates, and records; judiciary materials; and documents issued by executive departments. *Login using your library card number, then select this catalog from the drop-down list.
US Tax Forms and Publications
Tax forms from the Internal Revenue Service.
CQResearcher
Requires a library card
Congressional Quarterly’s online database offers in-depth and unbiased reporting of issues in the news. Find background information on timely topics and access older reports to track how debates have changed over time.
United States Government Manual
Requires a library card
As the official handbook of the Federal Government, the United States Government Manual provides comprehensive information on the agencies of the legislative, judicial, and executive branches.
LexisNexis Library Express
Requires a library card
LexisNexis® Library Express is a powerful, Web-based research tool tailored for public libraries that delivers comprehensive news, business and legal information from over 10,000 of the most credible sources available. Legal information is available inside the Library only.