FREE DATABASES

The majority of our databases can be used from your home computer if you have a Rockford Public Library card.
Databases Key
Databases that require a library card number.
Databases Key
Databases ONLY available for use at the library.
Databases Key
Databases that can be accessed from home, but need authorization and a password. This is available by calling the Adult Services Department at (815) 965-7606, option 4.

Newspapers

Digital Microfilm
Requires a library card
Digitized microfilm editions of Chicago Tribune, The New York Times, and The Wall Street Journal. The digital microfilm covers January 1, 2008 to the present (excludes current month).
America's News
Requires a library card
This comprehensive resource offers tens of millions of current and archived full-text articles from over 2000 news sources nationwide in a single, fully searchable online resource. Includes over 100 Illinois newspaper resources.
Proquest Newsstand - New York Times
Requires a library card
Search current and archived issues of the New York Times. Includes staff-written articles, obituaries, editorials, announcements, real estate and other sections.
Proquest Newsstand - Chicago Tribune
Requires a library card
Search current and archived issues of the Chicago Tribune. Includes staff-written articles, obituaries, editorials, announcements, real estate and other sections.
Proquest Newsstand
Requires a library card
Search current and archived coverage of issues, events, people, government, sports and more with the largest collection of full-text U.S. newspapers. Includes staff-written articles, obituaries, editorials, announcements, real estate and other sections.
Accessible Archives
Requires a library card
This database provides access to archived magazines, newspapers and books.
Rockford Register Star
Requires a library card
Find full-text articles on local news, issues, events, people and much more from current and archived issues of The Rockford Register Star. Updated daily, it includes obituaries, editorials, announcements, sports, real estate and more.
The Chicago Tribune Historical Archive
Requires a library card
Images and full text of historical international, national, regional, and local issues and events, such as major wars and military actions, emerging nations, prohibition, Chicago gangsters, Great Depression, and Chicago as the center of the Progressive movement. Full text of death notices and obituaries.
LexisNexis Library Express
Requires a library card
LexisNexis® Library Express is a powerful, Web-based research tool tailored for public libraries that delivers comprehensive news, business and legal information from over 10,000 of the most credible sources available. News and business information are available with a library card. Legal information is available inside the Library only.
Rockford Historical Newspapers Archive 1888-2008
Requires a library card
Search people, places, organizations, events, historical topics and more from the Rockford Register Star and related Rockford newspapers. This authoritative source for local information includes birth, marriage and death notices, and all photographs and advertising from 1888 to 2008.